Levels of User Security Access


As a Key Account Holder of our CRM you can have two levels of user access to the CRM system, these being:

  • Admin User access 
  • Basic User access 


What can an Admin User do?


An Admin User has access to everything. 

  • They can import, export, delete and print off contacts from the database. 
  • They can merge duplicate contacts together 
  • They can set up the default custom fields and tags for the company. 
  • They can send out e-Marketing campaigns.

 

Who should be an Admin User?

 

This user is normally the Key Account Holder who is normally the Director or a Senior Manager of the business. Careful thought needs to be considered when giving other users ‘Admin User’ access as you are basically entrusting them with your company data.

 

What can a Basic User do?


A Basic User has more limited access within the account, meaning that they can:

  • Access contacts but not delete or export them. 
  • Then cannot print off contacts or merge contact records together.
  • They do not have access to Global Settings so they are unable to add global tags or create custom fields.
  • They can create e-Marketing campaigns but cannot send them – this needs to be done by an Admin User.


Additional Security Features that can be set up for Basic Users 


1. Tag based security for users - many Key Account Holders decide to use tag based security to give them better control of what certain users can or cannot have access to.

 

Tag based security restrictions work really well for sales teams for a number of reasons:

 

  • Setting up tag based security will allow a user to only see their contacts.  See example:  This displays ONLY Sally's contacts and she cannot view anyone elses or the rest of the database.  She can ONLY see contacts tagged as Sally: 

  

 

2.  Restrict what a Basic User sees on the Dashboard - you can also restrict what that user can view on the Dashboard - for example, allowing a Basic User to only see their own Dashboard activity as they cannot click on any of the other users in the custom filter as these are locked. See example below of where only Sally is selected under the users: 

 

 

3. Restrict what a Basic User can view inside History -  items within a contact record will only show up as their own history activity and not the whole teams.  So if someone other than the Basic User has been in contact with a person it will not be shown inside the History of that contact record - it will only display the History relevant to that user.  


Please see example below, where only History for Sally is shown:

 


4. Restrict user access to Calendars - Each user of your CRM account can select who (which other CRM users) can see and view their calendar and appointments.  Please click here to find out more about this feature. 

 

5. Hide Global Task Folders - share task folders with certain team members but restrict access for Basic Users, meaning a user can only access their In-Tray folder and Assigned task folder, which keeps other global task folders hidden from view.  To find out more about this please click here.


6. Specify File Permissions in File Repository - a Key Account Holder can choose which users can view, upload and download files - please click here to find out more.


7. Read-Only Access - this is popular for users within the organisation who do not need to edit within the CRM account and only need to view certain information: i.e:

  • Management (who just want to see overview of team activity)
  • Engineers who just want to see their appointments in the calendar and tasks reminders in the task section.
  • Accounts - Just want to view accounts section for invoicing


By applying a 'Read-Only' rule for a user this will disable any such edit features inside the CRM system so for example they would be unable to: 

  • Edit a contact
  • Tag a contact
  • Add History
  • Add Tasks
  • Add Notes


We can also hide certain sections inside a read-only user account, for example, we can hide the Phone, e-Marketing, Files and Accounts sections of CRM as shown in the example below: 



Please be aware that a Read-Only user will still have access to the Settings icon - where they can only view their own profile settings as well as the Help and Logoff icons which are along the top of the menu bar. 


8. Read-Only Task restriction - we can also set up a restriction for CRM users on tasks which means they would be unable to edit or delete tasks associated to contacts. 


If you have any questions or to arrange for these security restrictions to be set up or to discuss any other restrictions you may want in place please contact our Support Helpdesk.